No election monitors from West


No election monitors will be invited from European countries to monitor elections to the Northern, Central, North Western provinces, Sri Lankan Elections Commissioner Mahinda Deshapriya has told secretaries of political parties. He said this decision was taken on a request made to him not to entertain monitors from countries that had voted against Sri Lanka at the March UN Human Rights Council sessions in Geneva. He did not say from where the request came.

The countries that voted against Sri Lanka were Argentina, Austria, Benin, Brazil, Costa Rica, Chile, the Czech Republic, Ivory Coast, Estonia, Germany, Guatemala, India, Ireland, Italy, Montenegro, Peru, Poland, Moldova, Rumania, Sierra Leone, Spain, South Korea, Switzerland and the United States.